Thinking about Grandpa on Memorial Day

I love history.

Even as a kid, I liked reading books about presidents and wars.

Yes, I was a history nerd.

My grandfather was a weatherman in World War II.

He had the sobering responsibility of predicting the weather in Japan when the United States dropped nuclear weapons near the end of war.

I wanted to ask him a million questions about what happened.

But I was cautioned that he didn’t want to talk about it.

Years passed.

We had a great relationship and it was OK that he didn’t share stories from his service.

Shortly before he died, I was in a rush to leave a family gathering when he called me over to the couch in a low voice.

“Your mother said you might be interested in some pictures I have from the war,” he said.

We spent the next hour looking at pictures of him as a young man serving overseas.

He talked more about the islands and how much he missed my grandmother than old stories.

And that was OK.

It was a special memory from a special man.

I don’t always understand war and don’t always believe war is right.

But I’m eternally grateful for those who have served and have given their lives for our country.

Their sacrifice is legendary.

Thanks Grandpa! I appreciate what you did.

Posted on June 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

