The Golden Bear and me

Jack Nicklaus will always be my favorite golfer.

The Columbus Dispatch ran a great story this week about the 25th anniversary of his win at the 1986 Masters where he became the oldest golfer to win the tournament.

I was 11 at the time and I was hooked.

As a little kid, I memorized a sports history book with stories of his early victories.

Watching him win a big tournament live was great.

Several months later, I was able to attend the World Series of Golf in Akron, Ohio.

I wanted to follow Nicklaus and his group as he played.

By the time my dad and I caught up with his group, Nicklaus just finished his first hole.

The sports nerd in me wanted to score the round and I was pestering my dad to see how Nicklaus did on his first hole.

“I missed a putt and made par,” a man’s voice came from behind us.

I wheeled around and saw Nicklaus walking behind us with a smile to the second tee.

It’s a memory I’ll never forget.

(EDITOR’S NOTE: Photo from The Columbus Dispatch. You can watch “Yes, Sir: Jack Nicklaus and the ’86 Masters” 6 p.m. Wednesday on ESPN)

Posted on April 5, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

